The beautifully restored Ulster Canal Stores is a traditional cut stone building located on the edge of Clones town, on the N54 Cavan Road, with excellent road links with Northern Ireland. Clones lace-making was first introduced in the 1850’s and at one stage there were 1,500 lace-makers in the area.
Monaghan County Museum opened its doors to the public in 1974 becoming the first full time professionally staffed local authority museum in the country. Its continued commitment to provide a quality service has been rewarded on a number of occasions.
Constructed of tin, St. Peter’s Tin Church, Laragh is one of a kind in Co. Monaghan and unique on the island of Ireland for its quirky design and carefully considered features.
This self-guided trail takes visitors on a pleasant walk to several sites of historical significance in the town of Castleblayney and through Lough Muckno Leisure Park.
Key points of interest include Hope Castle, Alms Houses, St. Maeldoid’s Church of Ireland, Forester Hall and the Muckno Gate lodges.
The Walking Tour of Carrickmacross aims to bring alive the vibrant history of the Town, including the Famine Times in the Workhouse, the two families who owned the town for many years: The Shirley Estate and the Bath Estate, and the War of Independence.
The heritage trail in the old garrison town of Carrickmacross takes 35-40 minutes to walk and is the perfect opportunity to get under the skin of this Co. Monaghan crossroads.
The Patrick Kavanagh Trail features local sites relevant to Kavanagh’s life and featured in his work as well as sites of general interest.